Monday, December 15, 2014

Review: Breaking Rules by Christopher Reardon


Title: Breaking Rules by Christopher Reardon
Publisher: Self
Release Date: September 29th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Drama, Action
Medium: Paperback, Received for Review

Breaking Rules is a wonderful novel full of fantasy, drama, and action. Engaging and unique, Reardon weaves a tale both exciting and interesting for men and women of all ages. It is a cute little short story that can be read over and over. 

The plot is quite the one of a kind story. It's a cute little story about magic and witches. At times, the plot did seem to be a little lacking. There was very little back story to the characters and it makes you feel as if you are thrown into the middle of the story. It needs a bit more added to the plot to justify the actions in the story. However, the plot had many twists and turns I didn't see coming, which pleasantly surprised me. It was fast paced and fresh, and quite the enjoyable story.

The writing was quite nice. Reardon wrote it to be fast paced and unique. However, it does need some work. The dialogue seems stiff and fake and the writing in general could use some elaboration to be more descriptive and deeper. Because of this lacking, I couldn't exactly connect to the novel.

Overall, Breaking Rules is a neat little story that I think young kids might most enjoy. It had a nicely thought out plot and pretty good writing. With some work, though, it could be fantastic. 

Monday, December 8, 2014

Review: Tangled by Brandi Leigh Hall


Title: Tangled by Brandi Leigh Hall
Publisher: Self
Release Date: October 31st, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Action, Drama
Medium: Paperback, Receieved for Review

An epic and final conclusion to the BirthRight series, Tangled is the novel you all have been waiting on. Fans of the series will be happy to know that this exciting conclusion does not disappoint. Full of completely unexpected twists and turns, this novel will grab hold of you and not let go. Even when you reach the very end, it's impossible to stop thinking about the story. It is that addicting!

The plot of this novel (just like all the ones that came before, written by the brilliant Brandi Leigh Hall) is an intricate web of drama, action, romance, and most evident, magic. I can easily compare this novel to a roller coaster. From the very start, there are plot twists and turns from every angle and they do not stop until the very end. Even then, you are left wanting more. Every single character in this novel grabs your attention, and I was very pleased when I got to experience all of them personally by reading chapters from their POVs.

The writing, as usual, was magnificent. It was dramatic, description, and fast-paced. At absolutely no point in the story was I bored. This novel will keep you interested at all times, and the humorous banter and friendly style of writing makes reading this novel easy and enjoyable to read. 


With Tangled, I can once again say a novel has beyond exceeded my expectations. With each novel, this series gets increasingly better. Brandi Leigh Hall has knocked yet another one out of the park. This is one magical thrill-ride of a story you do not want to miss.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Review: Shatter Point Blog Tour


Title: Shatter Point by Jeff Altabef
Publisher: Evolved Publishing
Release Date: September 22nd, 2014
Genres: Drama, Action
Medium: Paperback, Received for Review

Shatter Point is an exciting novel of supsense, action, drama, and even a little bit of horror. It's fast paced and full of plot twists and turns you never see coming. It's definitely one of the best novels out there right now.

The plot of this novel is spot on. It's a perfect mixture of suspense, action, drama, and even a small bit of a horror factor. It's a wonderfully engaging novel that keeps you guessing and constantly makes you think. I cannot say much more on the plot as I don't want to give it away. But among other things, this novel is a psychological thriller that keeps you on your toes.

The characters are spectacular. Each one is original with a unique personality. They all have qualities that either make you love them or hate them- and either way, you don't want to stop reading about them. Their thought processes are amazing to experience and their point of views are so interesting. Everytime you have to stop reading for any reason, you find yourself already longing for the next time you can pick the book back up. It is that great.

The writing was just as equally fantastic. It flowed great and was wonderful to read. It conveyed the emotions of the characters perfectly and always created suspense. Jeff Altabef is an author to watch, as I will surely do, because after reading this novel of his, I really look forward to reading his other works.

Overall, this novel was a fantastic mix of genres, containing great characters, and written flawlessly. This is definitely a novel I recommend to all readers and one I definitely won't forget anytime soon.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Review: Dare You To by Katie McGarry


Title: Dare You To by Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: April 29th, 2014
Genres: Drama, Action, Romance
Medium: Hardback, bought

Dare You To is a fantastic novel that is a perfect mix of romance and drama. It's suspenseful and full of characters that are easy to fall in love with. The writing is fantastic, the plot is amazing, and the characters are all perfectly written. This series by Katie McGarry is one of my all-time favorites, because it gets better and better with every novel she writes.
 
The plot is amazing. It's suspenseful, action-packed, and full of sexy romance. These novels are the epitome of romance novels, as they sometimes have a certain "damsel-in-distress" feeling, while at other times, the roles are switched, and it's the female protagonist that saves the hunk. I love how with her novels, there is the balance or equality in all the relationships. The girls are always strong, independent women, and the boys are just as equally brave. This makes these stories very easy to read for both genders and all ages. It's mature romance and it's definitely not just some 'daytime-soap-opera' romance. In these novels (and especially this one) the romance is continually interrupted by sporadic bursts of drama and action. This is also another reason why these stories are just as interesting for boys as they would be for girls. The action and drama will draw anyone in.
 
The characters, as usual, are spectacular. Each character is so perfectly written, that they all feel so lifelike. This is another reason why this series is so popular, because the characters all feel like you could know them in real life. Each has a unique personality, and they all contribute to the plot in some way. They are raw and emotional, and each demands you fall in love with them.
 
Katie McGarry's writing is so spectacular that I come to expect it every time I read one of her works. I expect is so much, I would be absolutely astounded if I did read one of her novels where the writing wasn't spot-on. As I said previously, McGarry writes with a certain balance. Not only does her characters have this balance, but so does her writing in general. She has mastered the art of perfectly balancing action and romance together in a plot. Her words all seem specifically chosen to tell the story and situation, and display the correct amount of emotion. I know I always say this, but her writing is raw, it's emotional, and it's simply one of the best I've seen.
 
Overall, this novel was yet another home run from Katie McGarry. The characterization and plot depth in her novels is what really draws the crowds in, as it surely was what hooked me. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and I cannot wait to see what else she comes up with.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Review: Obstacles by Christopher Reardon

Title: Obstacles by Christopher Reardon
Publisher: Solstice Shadows
Release Date: December 18th, 2013
Genres: Action, Fantasy, Drama
Medium: Paperback, Received for Review from author (Thanks Chris!)

Obstacles by Christopher Reardon is a unique new novel about making difficult decisions, facing your fears, and fighting for what you believe in. It is a perfect mix of action, drama, and fantasy. With an intricate plot and many plot twists, this novel is a good read for those looking for an original fantasy tale.

The plot of this novel is truly one of a kind. In it, a man named Alcott is faced with a difficult decision; let a small child die or compete in a set of obstacles to win the child his life... and Alcott take his place and lose his own. This original plot makes for a suspenseful ride. There's plenty of action and drama, making this novel perfect for both genders, and a fantastic fantasy element that ties everything together and makes it enjoyable for any age. It's fast paced and full of twists and turns you never see coming.

The writing was good. I won't say great, because it was lacking in many places. Most noticeably for me, the sentence structure was off and needed some variation. It felt like every single sentence was short and had the same number of syllables. There needed to be some differentiation here and this would have improved my opinion greatly. Secondly, the writing could have been a bit more natural. It would have flowed so much easier if this has been done. Thirdly, the dialogue could have been more natural as well. I just wish the writing hadn't been so rigid and fake at times. Aside from these few problems, the novel is very descriptive and keeps a good pace. The creativity is there, but the writing needs some work.

I'll briefly touch on the characters. They were all very nicely done and each played an important part. They each had great back stories (may I say I was pleasantly surprised to see that one of the characters had a sister with Down Syndrome. As I, too, have a sibling with Downs, I love seeing representation in fiction today.) Every character was perfection.

Overall, the novel was quite good. It was unique, with a great plot and wonderful characters, and although the writing needs a little work, I will recommend this novel to fantasy-lovers. Christopher Reardon is definitely one to keep an eye on for the future.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

ARC Review: Gypsy by Trisha Leigh


Title: Gypsy by Trisha Leigh
Publisher: Self
Release Date: May 7th, 2014
Genres: Drama, Action, Romance
Medium: Paperback ARC via Author

Gypsy by Trisha Leigh was an spellbinding novel full of edge-of-your-seat action, exciting drama, and believable romance. This novel hooks you right away from it's originality and unique voice, and is definitely a series you don't want to miss.

Starting off, what was the biggest thing that drew me in about this novel? The setting. The moment I found out this novel was set in the beautiful city of Charleston, South Carolina, I knew I had to read it. A bit of a backstory here, last summer I vacationed in the charismatic city and for one week, I was in paradise. More than a year later, here I am, and I have not been able to get the charming city out of my head. In a few years time, I will be moving there to continue my career. Trisha Leigh wrote Charleston into this novel perfectly. She describes the city in perfect detail, and allows you to lose yourself in the city though her words. I could clearly picture the streets and areas in my head, remembering the quaint streets and the inviting homes. It was fantastic. And aside from that, the plot was brilliant. It was a perfect mix of slightly apocalyptic action, drama, and a touch of blossoming romance. The exciting and fresh plot draws you in and refuses to let you go. There isn't a minute that passes without something exciting happens, and it leaves you craving more whenever you are forced to pause in your reading.

The characters are as charming as the setting. They are interesting and all manage to be unique, despite the large amount of characters. Each has certain traits that define them, and they all involved in a complicated tangle of relationships that is very interesting to explore.

Along with that, the writing is also great. It's concise, yet descriptive and full of inner conflict and monologue at the same time. Trisha Leigh writes with an uncanny ability to keep the reader interested, no matter the situation or lack of action. Her tone of writing is as exciting as the plot; it's fast, riveting, and full of suprises.

All in all, this was a great novel full of twists and turns you never see coming. I will admit that I had trouble getting into the novel in the beginning, that the beginning is slightly slow, but it picks up and redeems itself about halfway though. The last half is packed to the brim with drama and romance, and surprises await you at every turn. This first installment of the Cavy series is one you simply cannot miss.

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Review: Crash Into You by Katie McGarry


Title: Crash Into You by Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: November 26th, 2013
Genres: Romance, Drama, Action
Medium: Hardcover, bought

Crash Into You is an exciting, sexy, thrilling novel full of fast cars, electric romance, and dramatic plot twists. Katie McGarry definitely does not disappoint with this novel.

The plot of this novel is as exciting and original as all of her other novels. With this novel, I was quite pleased to find out one of the main themes in this novel was cars. As a great lover of cars and racing, this novel was perfect for me. Katie McGarry perfectly mixes in information about cars and racing, all while being easy to understand and without overwhelming the reader, especially one who may know nothing about cars and/or racing.

The writing was tremendous as usual. McGarry has the uncanny ability to write from a point of view that totally envelopes the reader and absorbs you into its plot and emotions. And speaking of emotions, McGarry also writes with extreme emotion and believable relationships and situations. She weaves stories of broken hearts and romances that mend, and continues to be one of the best authors in Ya/Na fiction.

The characters in this novel were also quite heartwarming and yet sometimes heart breaking to read from. The emotions and relationships described in this novel are completely realistic and raw, and ones that will definitely pull at your heartstrings. Isaiah and Rachel's characters left be breathless and their romance blew me away. This unaverage couple and their friends are ones you will definitely never forget.

Overall, this novel is a fantastic novel of delicious, sexy, dramatic romance, written by one of the greatest romance writers today. Woven poetically with plot twists and action, this novel quickly became one of my all time favorites and is one I proudly recommend to all readers.

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Review: Vision of Shadows by Vincent Morrone


Title: Vision of Shadows by Vincent Morrone
Publisher: Silence In The Library
Release Date: July 15th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Drama
Medium: EBook, received for review

Oh. My. Gosh. Where do I start? Well, I usually don't start off a review sounding like a fan girl, but this is an unusual case. I have to say, I fell head over heels for this novel. From the very beginning, I was entranced in the amazing story of Bristol and her paranormal infused life. And the moment Payne enters the story... I haven't flipped pages that fast in along time. This story is exactly what I've been looking for. Easily one of the best novels I have ever read and one of my absolute favorites.

After the death of her parents, Bristol Blackburn’s life is thrown into chaos and she’s forced to move to Spirit, a small town where shadows are stirring. As she learns to navigate her new school and figures out how to keep her psychic abilities secret from her family, Bristol comes face to face with the boy who makes a regular appearance in her dreams: the gorgeous, possibly deadly, Payne McKnight. Soon she’ll find out if Payne will be the love of her life, or the end of it — and she has no idea which possibility scares her more. 

And that’s not even the worst of it. Strange shadows are haunting her dreams, and they’re up to something that could put Bristol and the lives of everyone she loves in jeopardy. -Amazon.com

From the very first page, the plot takes off and you are hanging on the edge of your seat. Naturally, when some authors write a plot like this (action-packed to the point that it is at a constant climax) it is too much to handle and is too busy. With Vincent Morrone's novel, that is definitely not the case. He writes with constant suspense and action, throwing in surprises at every turn, leaving you guessing every second. It flowed naturally, but also had many twists I didn't expect. The plot was both so suspenseful and gripping that I rarely had a free moment where I wasn't reading this story. I was that hooked. And I can't say that very often.

The characters were unbelievably realistic and interesting. Bristol's POV was an absolute joy to read in, and the way she saw things was both intriguing and easy to believe. She harnessed that 'normal teenage girl' factor that most authors seem to miss, while still having the fantasy characteristics when she accepts her role of talking to ghosts. And Payne... Oh Payne. His character was one of the most refreshing I have read from this year. He was an all-around normal guy (aside from being a handsome gentleman with a special ability) but because of his normality, he also has his faults. That is what I liked about these characters. They were so powerful and unreal, yet at the same time, realistic and relatable. Their faults made them the strong characters they were in the end. They really are nicely formed, descriptive, interesting characters.

The writing also left me speechless. Not only was the plot written perfectly, and the characters' back stories impeccable, but so was every other bit of the novel. Just the normal transitioning of scenes and characters' actions were written with untouchable skill. And the dialogue shared between the characters absolutely blew me away! I have read novels before where every bit of the dialogue feels like filler and sounds robotic. The characters sound very predictable and the dialogue is either cheesy or fake. And when writing about characters in their teenage years, for a teenage audience, the characters need to talk like normal teenagers. Not like children off a 90s sitcom. With this novel, the characters spoke to one another spot-on, perfect dialogue. Theirs words actually meant something, were emotional, and constantly laugh-out-loud funny! I had the best time reading this novel.

Overall, this novel was an absolute joy to read. I wasn't disappointed with a single thing and found zero faults and a million things to love. From the plot, to the characters, to the overall writing of this novel, it left me breathless. It was so amazing, I want my own paperback copy now! This is definitely a novel I would recommend to everyone, no matter what genres you prefer. Because you will love this novel. I know I did! As soon as I get myself a paperback copy, I will have to simply wait on pins and needles until I can get ahold of the sequel. Oh, how I cannot wait!

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

ARC Review: Not Until Tonight by Jessica Sankiewicz


Title: Not Until Tonight by Jessica Sankiewicz
Publisher: Self
Release Date: May 23rd, 2014
Genres: Romance, Drama
Medium: ARC eBook, received for review via author (Thanks Jessica!)

Not Until Tonight was yet another fantastic work by the great Jessica Sankiewicz. It was fast-paced, attention-grabbing, and quite addicting.

The plot grabs your attention from page 1 and holds your attention until the very last word. It's unique and has great emotion. The characters inside this story also makes this novella addicting. Each character is different and has their own story. Together, they create a realistic and addicting tale of drama and romance.

The writing (like always) is fantastic. Actually, I believe Sankiewicz has actually outdone herself with this novella! It's simple, yet descriptive, addicting, and realistically romantic.

Overall, this novella is an enjoyable read that makes me long to read more. Can't wait.

Review: Just Breathe by Vincent Morrone


Title: Just Breathe by Vincent Morrone
Publisher: Self
Release Date: June 12th, 2014
Genres: Drama, Romance, Action
Medium: eBook via Author (Thanks Vincent!)

Vincent Morrone never disappoints, as this is also shown in his latest work, Just Breathe, a dramatic and romantic thriller about redemption and love beyond flaws.

This novel absolutely blew me away. Every time I had to bookmark it and put it down, I was alreadly looking forward to picking it back up again. It's original and full of moments that put you on the edge of your seat, throwing plot twists at you that you never see coming. Although there is a great amount of tragedy, heartache and pain in this novel, there is also a great amount of love and romance to be read. This novel is a delightful mix of drama, action, and romance, and definitely a novel I will not be forgetting anytime soon.

The characters in this novel are all one of a kind. I loved the inner conflicts and emotional problems that arose from between characters, and the fact that each and every single character had a unique story and personality. This individuality in the novel came as a surprise to me, as most novels I have read do not have this amount of detail within it. You either hate or love each character, but no matter what, the drama they create is always addicting and suspenseful.

The writing (like always) is outstanding. Morrone has a grand talent for writing with a "no-bull" initiative. There is no useless dialogue, no filler descriptions, no boring pointless rambling as many authors fail to eliminate from their writing. Morrone writes simply and effortlessly, skillfully creating novels with perfect description and details, yet saving us from lengthy pointless writing. It's unique, suspenseful, and addicting.

Overall, this novel quickly became one of my favorites. The plot was unique and fresh, the characters were raw and addicting, and the writing was spectacular. A must-read for anyone.

Friday, July 4, 2014

Review: Haywire by Angela Biera


Title: Haywire by Angela Biera
Publisher: Self
Release Date: May 5th, 2014
Genres: Romance, Drama, Action
Medium: Paperback via Author (Thanks Angela!

Haywire is a gripping novel of romance, drama, and edge of your seat action. It's a complicated, sophisticated, realistic love story, and I loved every second of it.

The plot of this novel was so much more than I expected. What I expected was yet another romance story featuring an average pathetic girl torn between 2 perfect guys. The last thing I wanted was another sappy love triangle. I am so happy that is not what I got! Instead, I was happy to find that Haywire was an exciting and original story of a girl torn between 2 seemingly perfect guys; the ultimate sexy bad boy and the equally sexy romantic guy. They both can give her what she wants, but she'll have to choose between them first. What she doesn't know is that one of them harnesses a secret that will ultimately turn her world upside down. There is so much drama and sexy romance packed into this novel it is amazing. I couldn't stop reading! Every time I had to bookmark it, I was already excited for the next time I got to pick up the novel again. It was ultimately very addicting.

The characters in this novel are also very attention-grabbing. Sophie, our main character, is a feisty young woman who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to get it. The two men vying for her, Landon and Liam, are so similar, yet so different from each other. Both are baseball all stars and both are undeniably sexy. However, Landon is a total bad boy with a bad reputation and Liam is the good guy, focused on schoolwork and sports. Neither have shown any attention to Sophie before, but suddenly, they both want her. Badly. And she must come to a decision. But is it the right one?

The writing of this novel is spectacular. It's descriptive and dramatic, paced perfectly, and full of twists and turns you absolutely never see coming. For this being Biera's debut novel, it is awesome to see her start a career with such a hit! It can only tell of what she has to come. I cannot wait for the sequel! It leaves off with such a breathtaking cliff hanger... I'm going to have a hard time waiting.

Overall, this novel is a spectacular debut hit from an author we all definitely need to keep an eye on! If you are looking for a dramatic, romantic, rollercoaster-ride story that will take you in, this is the novel for you.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Next Page Reviews on Hiatus

Next Page Reviews is now currently under hiatus for the remainder of the summer. With a full plate, I cannot continue to keep up with promos and blog tours. I am so busy right now, and I think it is best if Next Page Reviews takes a break for the rest of the summer. I have recently been cast as a leading role in an upcoming horror film, and between filming the movie and everything else I do, the blog isn't a top priority. I have concerts planned to see, traveling, trips, friends to see, movies, special events, modeling, competitions, and so much more. For instance, I designed a logo for my town's bicentennial celebration, and I have to make an appearance at that week long celebration and hand out my Tshirts with my logo. These things are keeping me busy. For the rest of the summer, I will be focussing on these things.

AUTHORS: I do know that I have accepted review offers from several of you. And for many of you, I have already received your novels in the mail. I promise to get those read over this summer. I will not be on a hiatus for you guys! ***If I already have your novel, then I will be trying my hardest to read them over the summer and get them reviewed soon.***

Otherwise, I love you guys and I will be back soon!!!

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Stacking The Shelves: May #12

Stacking The Shelves is a monthly meme where bloggers recount the books they bought, were gifted, received for review, etc. Histed byTynga's Reviews.


Gypsy by Trisha Leigh
Exodus 2022 by Kenneth G. Bennett
Haywire by Angela Biera (Paperback / Received for Review! Thanks Angela!)
Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out by Susan Kuklin (ARC Paperback / Received for Review! Thanks Bauer Teen!)


I received this paperback copy of Exodus 2022 to review for a blog tour (stopping here at Next Page Reviews soon!)

In total, I received 4 novels for review in May. 

What did you get?

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Cover Reveal: Not Until Tonight by Jessica Sankiewicz


Title: Not Until Tonight

Author: Jessica Sankiewicz
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary

Release Date: May 26th 2014


Haley has spent the last year going to the bar across the street from her apartment every day. It's the only thing that winds her down at the end of a long day at work. She gets to have a drink and talk to the gorgeous bartender, Skylar. Her little crush on him is starting to drive her crazy. She wants to take their friendship to the next level but she doesn't want to compromise what they already have.

When Skylar asks Haley to pretend to be his girlfriend for one night, she doesn't hesitate to say yes. This is her chance to finally experience what it could be like, even if it's just for one night. But pretending becomes difficult when their real feelings surface and the pull is too strong to resist. And neither one of them prepared for that.

At the end of the night, will they be willing to turn a fake relationship into a real one?




Find author Jessica Sankiewicz here!

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Review: Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles


Title: Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
Publisher: Walker Childrens
Release Date: December 23, 2008
Genres: Romance, Drama, Action, Contemporary
Medium: Paperback, Bought

From the first page, Perfect Chemistry became one of my favorite novels. Ever. Along the lines of Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry, this dramatic and romantic contemporary is completely realistic and believable. When 2 polar opposite Chicago teens are forced to come together as chemistry partners, drama and a Romeo & Juliet type romance is sure to ensue between the North and South sider.

A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers.

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more. -From Amazon.com
 
The plot is everything you can expect and so much more. You see the true reality of life in the big city; both the good and the bad. From the gang-inhabiting streets on the south side to the mansions housing "perfect" families on the north side, you see two completely different side of Chicago. This is both an eye-opening and definitely a mind-changing novel. You follow two polar opposite teens from the day they meet and watch as their paths cross is many unexpected ways. And yes, there is many plot twists to be found in this novel. It's one of the best dual-point-of-view novels I have ever read. There are no gaps in the writing and the plot flow effortlessly. Addictive and containing plenty of edge-of-your-seat action, this novel makes for a great novel unisex novel that will resonate with teenage readers everywhere. This novel is so realistic, it is impossible to not think this  novel was written from real experiences. It is that realistic. One of the best plots I have ever read.
 
Chloe and Alex are two characters I will never forget. Dynamic and emotional, they tell two very different stories from one another. Chloe resides in the north side of Chicago, living in a big house with hot-shot parents and an older sister with Cystic Fibrosis, who Chloe seems to be the only one to understand. Fighting to keep her parents happy and her sister out of a special care center, Chloe must put on the perfect fa├žade everyday to make everyone happy. Everyone except herself, that is. And Alex... Oh. Alex is now one of my favorite characters of all time. He lives in the south side of Chicago, always out on the streets, apart of the Latino Blood gang so he can protect his family from the fate of his deceased father. Growing up poor and in a gang, Alex has a rough facade himself and a bad reputation. All until he meets Chloe, when the real side of him begins to show. So much character development takes place in this novel, it's had to describe.

The writing in this novel: tremendous. Some of the most natural, realistic, and flowing writing I have ever read. It is so very hard to stop reading. Literally, I read half the book in one sitting. And the other half in another sitting practically. It is so addicting and delicious. The drama is real, the action is edge-of-your-seat nail biting suspense, the emotions are raw, and the romance is so very sexy. I have literally no qualms with Elkeles' style of writing. I can say no words except 'perfect.'

This novel and series quickly became one of my all time favorites. It was emotional, raw, sensual, action-packed, and dramatic. I cannot wait to see where this series goes and I will definitely be getting a copy of the sequel as soon as I can get my hands on it. Five stars.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Review: Tempted by Brandi Leigh Hall

 
Title: Tempted by Brandi Leigh Hall
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: May 27th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Drama, Romance
Medium: ARC Paperback, Received For Review via Author (Thanks Brandi!)

Another stunning addition to the series, Tempted is an exciting sequel to Tethered, the original tempting novel that began my love for the series. Tempted is everything and so much more than I expected. It totally blew the first novel right out of the water! It was dramatic, steamy, and packed with so many plot twists you will never see coming.

What if the very thing to save you—is the one thing beyond your reach?

Torn between the two men who have fallen for her—and the evil who wants to possess her—twenty-year-old Chloe Bishop can no longer remember the fatal vision which threatens her future happiness. But when the magical link is severed between Chloe and her Wiccan family, they must find a way to save her before temptation leads her into darkness—and into the welcoming arms of Mr. Wrong. - Goodreads.com


The plot of this novel is spectacular. With the first novel, the story is just taking off. You meet all the characters, get introduced to the dramatic plot line, and the adventure begins to unfold. After Tethered ends on a great cliffhanger, Tempted starts right back up with even more suspense and drama. The plot thickens as there becomes a definite war brewing in the background between good and evil, and how magic may be the very thing that saves or kills them. Action-packed, full of delicious drama and steamy romance, this novel is sure to appease the hunger of fans of the series, and even entice more readers into the realm of the BirthRight series.

The characters in this novel are one of the reasons why this novel is so hard to put down. The characters are imaginative, emotional, and very unique. Chloe, our main character, faces many difficult situations and decisions. Through these situations, however, Chloe does develop and change, maturing into her character. This character development is quite exciting, and we get to see such a different side of Chloe. Hunter also changed and developed in this novel. If possible, he becomes even braver, and truly expresses his love for Chloe. These two characters, along with all the others, are all nicely developed, interesting, and unique.

The writing was also terrific. Might I say, I believe the writing was even better in book 2 than it was in book 1. I mean this in a good way! It seems as if Hall has really matured as a writer and taken her readers suggestions and comments to heart. That is why this novel was so good! And why I believe that Tempted definitely outshines Tethered. And because of this, I must say that everyone should at least try book 1. Maybe you'll love it or maybe you'll just like it. Whatever your feelings, you should definitely continue on and read book 2. You won't regret it. The writing is daring, flowing, funny, dramatic, romantic, and more, all rolled up into one big story full of plot twists and unexpected scenarios. You definitely don't want to miss this.

Overall, this story is one you don't want to miss. It's packed full of magic, drama, romance, and hilarious comedy, and one novel sure to appease readers. Full of plot twists and ending with one of the best closing scenes ever, this novel is fantastic.

Monday, May 5, 2014

Review: Tethered by Brandi Leigh Hall

 
Title: Tethered by Brandi Leigh Hall
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Release Date: December 29, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Drama
Medium: Paperback, Received for Review via Author (Thanks Brandi!)

Action-packed, dramatic, and full of magic, Tethered is a surprisingly unique novel of magic and witches. Definitely an author to watch, Brandi Leigh Hall crafts a novel of epic proportions.

No matter how you try to fight it—destiny has a mind of its own! Since foreseeing the imminent death of her parents six years earlier, Chloe has lived a simple, not-so-charmed-life away from her remaining Wiccan family. Zero magic. No close friendships. While struggling to bench-press more guilt than any nineteen-year-old ever should.

But fate intervenes and forces Chloe to return home. As if being an in-the-closet-Seer wasn’t bad enough, now she has to spend summer break with the snarky sister who hates her—and the magical birthright she was hell-bent on denying for all eternity.

Luckily, meeting Mr. Perfect takes the edge off her endless family drama. Hunter’s twenty-five, sometimes old-fashioned in a Jane Austen hero sort of way, and more delicious than molten-lava cake. But the more she tries to hide her family’s magical secrets from this ever-present stranger, the more quickly she realizes he’s hiding a few doozies of his own.

Will the lies and betrayal destroy their relationship before it really begins? Or will learning of their tethered future create an unbreakable bond neither can deny? Either way, their hearts will be forever entwined by destiny. -Amazon.com

The plot of this novel is surprisingly unique and original. Magical witches are not usually my favorite kinds of fantasy by far, and there hasn't been many books about witches that I have enjoyed since the age of Harry Potter. This novel has changed both of these statements, however. This plot is quite an attention grabber. It's full of depth, dramatic family ties and relationships, and an enriching plot full of plot twists and interesting characters. This all makes for a creative novel that constantly leaves you wanting more. Shrouded in mystery and magic, Tethered is a novel with a perfect amount if romance, drama, and fantasy, and a series sure to captivate readers.

The characters were terrific. Chloe is a girl full of surprises and humor. In the beginning, Chloe constantly finds the good in every situation and person and never let's a moment to without making a joke. Although, you do see a lot of character development going on here as she slowly transforms into a more serious person by the end of the novel. She matures and grows into her destiny 100%. Hunter was also very interesting. He was loyal, brave, and a total romantic. I grew very fond of his character over time. Every character in this novel, lead or supporting, plays a huge part in the prophecy. Every character is crucial to the plot and each one is unique.

The writing in this novel is also quite nice. Hall describes a complicated world in very descriptive yet simple means, and writes a story that is easy to follow and even easier to get lost in. Her writing is very clean cut and simple, full of nicely timed humor and drama. Although the dialogue sometimes comes off as fake and a little more than scripted, it doesn't all the time. Some of the character's lengthy responses sound very fake and definitely not the way a regular person would respond. However, it isn't majorly noticeable, and didn't really affect the reading experience for me. Overall, I was rather pleased.

Overall, Tethered is a uniquely magical book that is sure to please readers. It's interesting, nicely written, and full of great plot twists and drama. A very nice read.

Sunday, May 4, 2014

Stacking The Shelves: April (#11)

Stacking The Shelves is a monthly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews where book bloggers recount all the books they have received this month!


Received For Review:
H10N1 by M. R. Cornelius (paperback)
The Ups And Downs of Being Dead by M. R. Cornelius (paperback)
(Not Pictured) Tempted by Brandi Leigh Hall (ARC Paperback!)

Bought:
Another Faust by Daniel & Dina Nayeri (hardcover)
Bewitching by Alex Flinn (hardcover)
Lullaby by Amanda Hocking (hardcover)
Tidal by Amanda Hocking (hardcover)
Crash Into You by Katie McGarry (hardcover!)
Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles (paperback)
Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani (paperback)
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (paperback)

WBN:
The Raven's Warrior by Vincent Pratchett
The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Steven Chbosky


~I received an exclusive excerpt of Dorothy Must Die, an issue of Book Page, 7 bookmarks, cards from Bubba's Book Shop, and 4 WBN bookmarks.

~From Brandi Leigh Hall, I received a 3-page letter, two "thank you" cards, a bookmark, and a gift certificate for a free ebook copy of the novel (Watch out for that to soon be in a giveaway here on Next Page Reviews!) 


In total, I received 12 books, 12 bookmarks, and a ton of other goodies! 

What did you get?

Monday, April 28, 2014

Review: The World Without A Future by Nazarea Andrews

 
Title: The World Without A Future by Nazarea Andrews
Publisher: A&A Literary
Release Date: December 1, 2013
Genres: Horror, Romance, Drama, Post-Apocalyptic
Medium: Ebook, Received For Review via Author (Thanks Nazarea!)

The World Without A Future is an action-packed, zombie-filled, sexy drama that will have you unable to stop flipping pages. It's interesting, original, and definitely worth your time.

She was born the day the world ended…

Nurrin has lived her entire life with zombies—trapped behind walls meant to keep them safe. She’s mostly happy there. But when a zombie horde breach the walls of her Haven, she has to trust her brother, Collin, and his best friend to keep her alive.

He just wants his past to die…

Finn O’Malley has given up on voicing warnings that are ignored. No one cares that the zombies are changing. Now all that matters is keeping Collin and Nurrin safe from what’s outside the walls of a Haven. But when Nurrin’s best friend picks up a contact infection, he agrees to get the medicine needed to save his life. Forced together, relying on each other in a strange Haven, zombies aren’t the most dangerous thing they’re facing.

In their world, only one thing remains true: everything ends in blood. -Goodreads.com

The plot was very interesting. From page one, you are instantly enveloped in a completely different world, one were zombies run the earth and people live in Havens, some (like Nurrin) don't even remember the world before the biters. This world is slightly different from the usual post-apocalyptic novels. This is just one of the things that makes it original. The dramatic and almost romantic tension also makes this novel so good. When Nurrin and Finn are thrown together to go in search of medicine, it is sure to make things interesting. Two problems exist: 1) they hate each other and 2) the ever present zombies. This road trip creates an attention grabbing plot and brings all the characters, lead and supporting, together to make a novel well worth reading.

The characters were also very interesting. Nurrin is everything I like in a female character. She's independent, strong, and knows what she wants. She takes charge in this novel and really changes into the person she is destined to be. And Finn... Woah. Finn is the ultimate bad boy. In the beginning, we experience Nurrin's opinion of him through her point of view. She doesn't like him at all, hates him really, but when they are thrown together with unusual circumstances, things are bound to change. Their relationship is odd, yet sexy, as they must go in search of the medications to save her friend and brother. This relationship is one of the most interesting I have come upon, and definitely one I will follow throughout the series.

The writing was also very nice. It was concise with perfect flow; there was no unecasary wordiness and never a boring moment. This keeps the reader engaged at all times and makes it very hard to put the novel down. The author perfectly conveyed the feeling of the apocalypse and what would truly happen if zombies ever really were to happen in the future. You would have the fall out and the uprising of a new government, havens, and the real emotions you see in this novel. People would miss their lives from before the zombies, and so,e would be lucky enough to not know anything but their current life. People would change and resort to different things during the apocalypse. Some wouldn't change at all. Andrews writes this all in perfectly.

Overall, this novel is a fantastic novel, and one of my favorite zombie novels to date. The zombies are terrifying, the setting is great, the characters are interesting,and the romance is hot. I will say, some of the language and sexual scenes in this novel could have been too much at times, but definitely something you can look over if needed. Frankly I really enjoyed this novel and I cannot wait to see what happens in the sequel. Taking the great cliffhanger Andrews left us with into consideration, I can say definitely say the action isn't about to stop anytime soon.

Friday, April 25, 2014

Cover Reveal: Shadows Fall Away by Kit Forbes and Giveaway



Welcome to the Cover Reveal for

Shadows Fall Away by Kit Forbes

presented by Month9Books!

Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
Shadows Fall Away 1600x2400
Mark Stewart is one incident away from becoming a juvenile delinquent, and his parents have had enough. They ship Mark off to London England to stay with his eccentric aunt Agatha who is obsessed with all things Jack the Ripper. After a strange twist of luck, Mark is struck by lightning, and he wakes to find himself in 1888 Victorian London.
His interest in a string of murders Scotland Yard has yet to solve make him a likely suspect. After all, why would a young boy like Mark know so much about the murders? Could he be the ripper they've been searching for? Convinced the only way to get back home is to solve the murders, Mark dives headfirst into uncovering the truth. Mark's only distraction comes in the form of the beautiful Genie Trembly, a girl who is totally out of his league and who may have already caught the attention of the infamous ripper. To save her, he'll endanger both their lives, and risk being trapped in the past forever.
add to goodreads
Title: SHADOWS FALL AWAY
Publication date: September 23, 2014
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Kit Forbes
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author
Kit Forbes has been a lover of books, history, and all things paranormal for as long as she can remember. She lives in Western Pennsylvania with her youngest daughter and an assortment of cats who give new meaning to the world bizarre.
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!



Button

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

World Book Night 2014!

Guess what today is? GUESS WHAT DAY IT IS? It's Hump Day!
 
No not really. Actually, yes, it is Hump Day, but guess what else it is?
 
 
WORLD BOOK NIGHT 2014!

Hello wonderful blogglings. Yes, it officially that time of the year. World Book Night is an annual day when over 25,000 people across the world hand out free books to those who do not normally have access to books. Whether the person is elderly, poor, or just does not normally have access to books, World Book Night is designed to give those people their own book. For free. Thanks to the wonderful publishers, authors, and every one else behind the scenes, they forget their royalities for one day and send out hundreds, maybe thousands of their novels to promote reading across the world. This year, I decided to help out.

I live in a small town in Southwest Virginia. The population is barely over 2,000 people, and around 15% of those people live below the poverty line. Our county's population is a little over 23,000 and about 17% of its total population lives below the poverty line. The adult illiteracy rate in our county is almost 15% as well. Because of these large numbers of the poor and illiterate in my area, I thought my town (and surrounding area) would benefit greatly from an organization such as World Book Night. Because of this, I signed up and filled out a form to register to be a 2014 World Book Night giver. And I was accepted, along with 25,000 other individuals world-wide.

Today, April 23rd, 2014, I will be walking around in my area, handing out 20 copies of The Perks of Being A Wallflower to teens in my area, and 20 copies of one adult book. I will simply be walking down the streets asking people if they are avid readers or not. If they say yes, they are not to receive a book. Only those who do not regularly read (whether because they cannot afford a book of their own or do not have the means of getting one) will receive a WBN special edition copy of the novel of their choice, free of charge. At the end of the day, I plan on taking copies of Steven Chbosky's great hit The Perks of Being A Wallflower to the several underfunded schools in my area, and the adult books to the women's shelter or retirement home. Anyone who wants to read should be able to read, no matter their financial state.

I'm handing out books this afternoon. Stay tuned for my next post, telling of all the people I managed to meet and their stories. Until then, happy World Book Night 2014!

Review: Losing It All by Marsha Cornelius


Title: Losing It All by Marsha Cornelius
Publisher: Hickory Flat Books
Release Date: March 8, 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Drama, Romance
Medium: Paperback, Received For Review (Thanks Marsha!)

Losing It All by Marsha Cornelius is one of my favorite novels ever. It was painfully realistic, interesting and dramatic, and full of romance and plot twists that you never see coming. Honestly, this novel is a roller coaster from beginning to end, a gripping and edge-of-your-seat novel that is so painstakingly real, you are entranced from page one. Addicting and one of the most realistic contemporaries I have ever read, this novel takes hold of both your mind and heart and takes you on an emotional ride.

Frank Barnes is content living on the streets of Atlanta. A soup kitchen and a makeshift shanty sure beat his days as a POW in Vietnam. But Chloe Roberts can’t handle the eviction that sends her into the hell of homelessness. With no family or friends to turn to, Chloe and her children are sucked into the traumatic world of night shelters, and dangerous predators.

When they bump into each other at the soup kitchen, Frank offers Chloe a glimmer of hope that she can pull her life back together. She rekindles his lost sense of self-worth by taking his mind off his own problems. But they will not meet again until Frank is riding high as a working man, and Chloe has hit rock bottom. 


By helping Chloe rebuild her broken life, Frank banishes the demons from his own past. Unfortunately, the past comes strolling back into their lives, threatening to destroy the happiness they have finally found. -Amazon.com


The plot is fantastic. As I have previously said several times by now, this novel is both tragically and beautifully realistic. It perfectly showcases the ups and downs of basic human life and displays relationships and flawed lives in flawless clarity. There is no sugar-coating in this novel. It plainly tells the truth, not trying to make the blows of life any easier. Several touchy subjects are confronted in this novel, including divorce, rape, war, and especially the subject of the homeless and those in women's shelters. These subjects are carefully weaved into this novel, so that several topics are covered, many that will change your mind and leave you questioning. Both the topic of returning Vietnam soldiers and those who are living homeless on the streets resonated deeply with me, and left me with newfound knowledge. These weren't the only things in this novel that made me rethink, but they were two of the most prominent. The plot is perfectly paced and flowing so that you are never bored and never confused on what is going on. It's intriguing, educational, and full of emotion and a rawness so shocking, it's hard to imagine how the author came to compose this novel.

The characters were some of the most deeply interesting characters I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Frank's character was one I was instantly enamored by. He starts out kind of questionable; he's known as a bum on the streets, when actually it is much deeper than that. Once a star football player with his life going great for him, it wasn't long until he was drafted into Vietnam. When he got back home, not only was he met with the nation's anger and scorn, he was also faced with the fact that his life was going downhill. He ended up on the streets trying to survive. Dynamic, funny, romantic, and a very caring person, you find much more to Frank then one would first thing. This is because of the amazing character development you find throughout the entire novel. Chloe, the other side of the story, is also a very interesting character to experience. Her character begins as a troubled mom who can never stick up for herself and is left homeless and alone with her two children after her husband runs off and leaves her with nothing. Evicted from their apartment, Chloe and the kids are forced to stay in a women's shelter and face many more challenges before crossing paths with Frank... And everything changes. Truly interesting, addicting, and both having a part in a simply emotional and complicated relationship, these characters will always leave you wanting more.

The writing was absolutely amazing and everything I had been wanting. Cornelius writes with the mind-blowing capability to copy reality to paper almost effortlessly, and show real and raw human emotion. It's real writing, not forced or fake, but true. There's no "filler" type writing, no unnecessary wordiness, no lengthy passages that seem to drag on forever and forever... Every word is vital to the plot and conveys its meaning perfectly. I really can't say much more than the fact that Cornelius harness fantastic writing ability and a complete understanding of reality and human emotions.

Overall, this novel is an exciting and emotional tour de force, full of completely unexpected plot twists and true life situations. The writing is clearly there, the plot is fantastic, and the novel will quickly become a favorite of yours. Five stars, without a doubt.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Review: All That Is Red by Anna Caltabiano


Title: All That Is Red by Anna Caltabiano
Publisher: New Generation Publishing
Release Date: May 20, 2012
Genres: Drama**
Medium: Paperback, Received For Review

I'm going to start off this review by saying that I'm not really sure how to write it. There was a few things I didn't like about the novel, but there is also many things I did like. Overall, this all boiled down to this novel being slightly confusing and overly poetic, but still a very creative and interesting novel.

If you could choose a world without loneliness, without shame, grief, misery, or feeling of any kind, would you, if it also meant that you lost the simple pleasure of a picnic on a sunny day or the joy of falling in love? Would the allure of a comfortable numbness prove too tempting to resist? Could you choose between feeling pain and not feeling anything, ever again?

A girl is caught in a world where this choice is fiercely contested. In the cross-fire between the Red and White empires, the feeling and the unfeeling, each bent on the other's destruction, the girl must choose between emotion and oblivion, joining the ranks with the Reds as they fight to resist the Whites, but all the while struggling with her own desperate ambivalence. All That Is Red is a story of survival and a journey through the human condition, revealing how the intimate euphoria of pain can sometimes be all we have to remind us that we are alive. -Goodreads.com

The plot of this novel is very interesting. The beginning is slightly confusing in the way that neither the main character nor the reader has any idea where they are or what is going on. The war between the Red and the White feels a little overly-complicated and more than a little metaphorical. I understand what the author was trying to convene here, the difference between feeling and unfeeling and how feeling emotions is a good thing, but the plot about the battle between Red and White seems a little 'out-there.' The point of the novel is "feeling emotions is a good thing" and though I see what the author was trying to do when she wrote this, I feel like that point could have been better exemplified in a different, less-confusing matter. To be honest, when I started reading about the Red and White world and the three-faced people, I was instantly reminded of Alice and Wonderland for some reason. It is that type of unbelievable, almost fairly-tale fantasy. Not to say I didn't enjoy it though. It was original and creative, and definitely one of kind, seeing as I have never read anything like it before (this should explain my trouble of coming up with ideas on how to write this review and difficulty picking out a genre.) It was magical, flowed at a good speed, and was slightly interesting.

The characters were also very unusual and interesting. The main character (who has no name, mind you) suffers from self-harm, and who has flashbacks of cutting herself throughout the novel. She finds herself in this world where the Red and the White (the feeling and unfeeling) are at war with each other, and she must lead the Red cause. There is some nice character development going on here as she matures into a leader, but sometimes feels rushed, because she goes from being a normal teenage girl who has no clue where she is in this world and pages later, is thrust into the position of being a leader. It comes a bit too fast. Then there is her friend (also nameless, until the last few pages of the book; simply called "The Boy") who helps her lead and fight the White, and also finds himself in the process. There is several supporting characters who also have a share in the fight, like the girl's possible love interest, a three-faced Red creature called a Trigon. These characters all bond together to fight an impossible fight between feeling emotions and the rather.

I will say the writing is nice. It is not spectacular, but neither is it terrible. It felt quite "put-on" really. For example, the writing could be very complicated and unnecessarily wordy at times, then be very plain and sparse at others. There was no real balence here. There was several instances of lengthy and almost pointless inner conflict and dialogue that could be described as poetic rambling. Most of the time, while reading this novel, I felt like the author felt a need to use big strong words and lengthy descriptions, yet in reality, the plot really went nowhere. It was fake feeling because the writing was very robotic and forced. I wish there had been a few things cleaned up about the plot, and the writing needed some polishing, and honestly, some time to mature and grow. In my personal opinion, when writing an emotionally-charged novel, there needs to be some discipline here, otherwise the writing gets very hard to read and get through, almost like trudging through waist-deep mud. It also causes novels with good potential to become very DNF-worthy. In this case, I stuck through it to see how it would end.

The plot description of the novel asks what you would do if you could choose between feeling emotion (heartache, pain) and not feeling these emotions, if you would choose to not feel them, if it meant not being able to experience love or pleasure. This sounds like a very good hook for a novel, but in reality, the writing inside this novel doesn't match the plot description that much. The plot's definitely one of a kind, but yet almost in a bad way. The writing could use some work, but I respect the fact that the author was at the time 15 and chose to write about a subject so controversial as self-harm. I commend her for this, and because of it, I will watch her in the future to see how her writing progresses. I think she has real potential if she could hone her craft.

Overall, I found this novel to have had very good potential, but yet came out lacking.  With some more polishing and some time, this novel could have been much better. Yet, It is nicely paced and full of creativity and things I never would have thought of. Even with the few problems I had with the novel, I still found it to be a very interesting read written in a unique perspective that is quite original and interesting.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Review: Angel Fever by L. A. Weatherly

 
Title: Angel Fever by L. A. Weatherly
Publisher: Candlewick
Release Date: November 26, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Drama, Romance, Paranormal
Medium: Hardback, Received For Review. Thanks Bauer Teen!
 
Angel Fever is the exciting third installment of the Angel Trilogy by L. A. Weatherly. Dramatic, action-packed, romantic, and full of plot twists you never see coming, Angel Fever is a novel sure to satisfy the hunger of the fans of the series. Or in my case, excite readers who are new to the series.

As half-angel Willow strives to save the world from her parasitic otherworldly kin, romance and tension heat up to a climactic finale.

In the devastated remains of the world, millions of people live in "Edens" provided by the angels who have all but enslaved humanity. As the angelic stranglehold on humanity tightens, Willow and Alex are recruiting and training new Angel Killers while struggling to hold ground on the celestial battlefield. Willow continues to struggle with feelings for Seb, and her love and resolve are tested as a shattering revelation sends Alex on a separate journey. Now that the final battle versus the angels is about to begin — and the fate of the world hangs in the balance — each of them must face the consequences of their own choices. Will love endure? Will the human race survive? -Amazon.com
Angel Fever is a fantastic, exciting novel of epic proportions. In just the first few pages, I was already literally blown away by both the plot and the style of writing. The plot was fresh, dramatic, and completely unique and original. I am a big fan of paranormal fantasy, especially when the theme at hand is a heavenly creature like an angel. Paranormal angel fantasy, however, is usually very repetitive and feels like the same story over and over, because authors refuse to do anything new with the subject. There's always a predictable love story playing out between a simple human girl and a bad-boy dark angel. And because of this lack of originality, most readers will pass up on a fantastic series like this one the second they see the word "angel" in the plot description. You really should pick up this novel anyway, despite the subject of angels, because this novel is completely original and unique. In this novel, all angels are bad (and not in the hot bad-boy way.) They feed on humans as they threaten to take over our world. And coming to the rescue is a small group of humans called the Angel Killers, and they must take down the angels one by one. This plot makes for a dramatic and exciting conclusion that will leave you gasping in surprise and flipping pages as fast as you can. Some of the things that happen in this novel surprised me so much that I literally yelled out in frustration. You know a book is fantastic when it makes you want to throw it across the room. It was that dramatic and addicting.

The characters in this novel were just as addicting. It is very hard to write this review without giving away many plot twists and spoiling the whole thing. Actually, I'm debating spoiling it right now. It seems impossible to describe the characters without telling what big part they each played in the big dramatic finale battle between the angels and the Angel Killers. But I will try. First of all, Willow is an inspiring, strong, independent female who is faced with the fact that she is the key to saving the world. She is also faced with the dilemma of being caught in a love triangle and having to choose between her guys... especially when something happens to one of them so sudden, it will leave you nearly in tears. Alex, her faithful, protective boyfriend is determined to finish his father's plans on how to save the world from the angels, no matter what the cost- Even if that means risking his life... Seb, Willow's devoted, confused best friend is convinced he is in love with Willow... even though she only sees him as a brother. This exciting love triangle and the plot that weaves through it creates exciting twists and dramatic relationships sure to keep readers immersed.

The writing in this novel was also fantastic. L. A. Weatherly manages to write a flowing, concise novel with constant plot twists and turns, and still keep the fantasy believable. It is very easy to imagine yourself in the shoes of Willow, the main character, as Weatherly writes a novel that is as believable as it is imaginative. The plot flows at great speed; fast, and this makes it very hard to put down. The novel is concise and every single word of the novel feels perfectly chosen. There is absolutely no "filler" type writing in this novel. My favorite parts of this novel were the exciting and unexpected plot twists and the steamy romance brewing between the main character and her lovers. The realistic and relatable human relationships in this novel make it all very enjoyable. I had absolutely no qualms with this novel and I loved every single bit of it.

First, I must also mention that I still have not yet read the first two novels. Even though I started out reading the final novel and will likely just have to read the series over in order, it was very easy to catch on to what was happening. L.. A. Weatherly wrote well enough so that you can pick up the series at any point in the story. Overall, this novel is an amazing paranormal fantasy with a new variation of angels. There is killer-action, steamy romance, and dramatic relationships, and when these things are mixed with a perfect plot, you get something amazing and well worth your time. Five stars.

Friday, April 11, 2014

Review: Forget Me Not by Stacey Nash

 
Title: Forget Me Not by Stacey Nash
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: March 27th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Drama
Medium: Ebook; Received for Review Via Author

Where do I start? Forget Me Not is an amazing and creative twist in the world of fantasy. Descriptive, enchanting, and full of wonder, this novel is sure to take fans of fantasy by storm. It'll keep you reading for hours straight, keep you up all night flipping pages, always starving to read a little more.

Forget Me Not features a tenacious main character, a bad boy hero, and a bucket load of secrets.

Since her mother vanished nine years ago, Anamae and her father have shared a quiet life. But when Anamae discovers a brooch identical to her mother's favorite pendant, she unknowingly invites a slew of trouble into their world. When the brooch and the pendant are worn together they're no longer pretty pieces of jewelry - they're part of a highly developed technology capable of cloaking the human form. Triggering the jewelry's power attracts the attention of a secret society determined to confiscate the device - and silence everyone who is aware of its existence. Anamae knows too much, and now she's Enemy Number One.

She's forced to leave her father behind when she's taken in by a group determined to keep her safe. Here Anamae searches for answers about this hidden world. With her father kidnapped and her own life on the line, Anamae must decide if saving her dad is worth risking her new friends' lives. No matter what she does, somebody is going to get hurt. -BarnesAndNoble.com

The plot was wonderful. It was clever and original, full of fantasy while yet still being believable. There was non stop action taking place in this novel. From page one to the very last word, there was action and drama, romance and friendship, and everything in between. You have many different plots intertwining in this novel, creating a complicated web of plot. You have Anamae's jewelry that is actually technology and the trouble it causes, the kidnapping of Anamae's father and the father-daughter bond there, and the introduction if several new friends, including a possible love interest.

The characters were outstanding in this novel. They were developed, deep, and interesting, and each one was unique and special in their only way. The father-daughter bond between Anamae's and her father is a real, deep relationship that tugs at your heart. Anamae's loyal friend Will and supportive bestie Lily are both friendships that very closely resemble real life relationships. There is depth there, yet also the light comedy that can only be exchanged between friends. This is represented perfectly in this novel. Then there is Jax...  Sexy, guarded, protective Jax. A character I definitely enjoyed reading about and loved getting to know. And Anamae... She was a delightful, strong, independent character who had a feisty side and was a joy to read from.

The writing was also wonderful. It was descriptive, flowing, and powerful. I really enjoyed it. Stacey Nash is very talented at what she does and has no problem at all switching between steamy romance to hardcore action. She throws in several different genres into one novel and writes them all in effortlessly. The dialogue was good, the plot was very nice, and the characters were well formed and unique. Very creative novel.